Orchestra Toronto presents...


Happening in the George Weston Recital Hall

30 Years After the Fall of the Berlin Wall

Pre-concert chat at 2:15 with Michael Newnham


On November 9, 1989, the shape of Europe changed, as ordinary people tore apart a wall dividing their country, and changing the political landscape of Europe and the world. Join Orchestra Toronto as we present a concert celebrating unity, joy, and the human spirit that unites us all. 

Mozart probably wrote Piano Concerto No. 23 in A-minor for his own performance. Pianist Elijah Orlenko, winner of the 2019 Marta Hidy Prize for Piano, will perform this intimate, expressive conversation between piano and orchestra with us.

Beethoven's Symphony No. 9 is the most-performed symphony in the world. The stirring, and almost universally known, "Ode to Joy" is an anthem for all humanity. The Toronto Mendelssohn Choir and a stunning quartet of soloists will join the Orchestra to share this dramatic paean to fellowship and human endeavor. 



Michael Newnham – Conductor

Elijah Orlenko – Piano

Lesley Bouza – Soprano

Andrea Ludwig – Mezzo soprano

Andrew Walker – Tenor

Bradley Christensen – Baritone

The Toronto Mendelssohn Choir



Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart – Piano Concerto No. 23 in A-minor

Ludwig van Beethoven – Symphony No. 9 in D-minor


October 27, 20193:00 pm